ZANU-PF offers Khaya-Moyo ministerial post


    Khaya Moyo was trounced by Lovemore Moyo of the mainstream Movement for Democratic Change led by Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai (MDC-T) 105-93 for the post of Parliament Speaker.

    There were 199 members of parlaiment who voted and of these 96 each belonged to Zanu (PF) and MDC-T while seven belonged to the smaller MDC faction led by Welshman Ncube. There was one spoilt paper.

    On Wednesday the politburo launched a witch-hunt in desperate attempts to sniff out legislators that voted for Moyo.

    ZANU-PF sources said on Wednesday Khaya-Moyo, the former ambassador to South Africa, was likely to be sworn on Thursday as a non-constituency
    senator to fill the vacancy left by Vice President John Nkomo who was on Tuesday sworn as a non-constituency House of Assembly member.

    Khaya-Moyo is further tipped to be appointed Minister of State in the President’s Office to become one of the three co-Ministers of National
    Healing, together with Sekai Holland (MDC-T) and Moses Mzila-Ndlovu (MDC).

    Vice President Nkomo is set to relinquish the portfolio in the Organ.