Tsvangirai wins award for standing up to Zanu PF terrorists


    The award’s promoters say it is given to an organisation or individual “courageously fostering, promoting and sustaining the democratic process anywhere in the world.”

    Tsvangirai received the award on Monday at the 43rd annual world conference of the IAPC in Paris, France.
    The conference is being held under the theme “Campaigns Without Frontiers.”
    The IAPC pools together international associations of renowned experts and strategists in media, politics and democracy.

    A statement from the IAPC said Tsvangirai won the award “in recognition of his unstinting effort and courageous leadership in the struggle for democracy and freedom in Zimbabwe.”

    Accepting the award, Tsvangirai said the medal “belonged to the people of Zimbabwe, dead and living, who have borne the brunt and pain of the struggle for democracy, freedom and real change.”

    Previous winners of the IAPC Democracy Award include Lech Walesa (Poland), Aung San Suu Kyi (Burma) and renowned freedom icon and former South African President Nelson Mandela who spent 27 years in prison fighting apartheid.

    Prime Minister Tsvangirai becomes the second African leader to win the award after Mandela who won it in 1993.

    Tsvangirai is in Paris accompanied by the Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office, Jameson Timba and Information Communication Technology Minister Nelson Chamisa and other senior government officials, including the Zimbabwean envoy to France, Ambassador Hamadziripi.