Constitution: Thematic committees named


    The three principals in the Global Political Agreement are expected to officially launch the programme on January 7.

    The 17 thematic committees that will be chaired by Members of Parliament are composed of 30 percent parliamentarians and 70 percent civil society.

    The 17 thematic committees and consultation teams are composed of 560 members. The names were announced at a press conference jointly addressed by the co-chairpersons of the select committee Munyaradzi Paul Mangwana, Mr Douglas Mwonzora and Mr Edward Mkhosi in Harare yesterday.

    Mangwana said the process was rolling into life following the allocation of funds by the Ministry of Finance under the 2010 budget.

    He said in choosing members of the thematic committees, the committee had tried to strive for gender equity and ensure that groups were reflective of the society.

    "The thematic committee members are expected to start training on January 4 beginning with parliamentarians, followed by the selected members from the civic society. The training programme will run until January 10 after which consultations will begin on January 12.

    "The committees are expected to go to the provinces and gather people’s views on specific subjects and then report back to the full select committee. After the consultation process the thematic committees will then synthesise and debate on the information," he said.

    He said the thematic committees would start work with a stakeholder meeting at provincial level, where they would meet with traditional leaders, provincial and district administrators to explain their programme.

    Co-chairperson Mr Douglas Mwonzora said the select committee had set aside 65 days for the constitution process, but in the event that more time was needed, the period could be extended.

    He said although the Zimbabwe Congress of Trade Union and National Consultative Assembly had distanced themselves from the constitution making process, individuals form their organisation had joined the process.

    The heads of the committees are as follows:


    Chairman, Deputy chairman

    Founding principles of the constitution:

    Dr David Parirenyatwa, Bishop Goodwill Shana,


    Makhosini Hlongwane, Mr Qhubani Moyo

    Land and natural resources and empowerment

    Advocate Martin Dinha, Mr Munyaradzi Gwisai.

    War Veterans

    Clifford Sibanda, Mr Raymond Majongwe.

    Executive organs of the state, PSC, police and defence

    Reuben Marumahoko, Ms Choice Ndoro.

    Local languages

    Andrew Langa, Mr Alexander Phiri

    Public finance

    Mr Silandu Ncube, Mr George Mutendadzamera.

    Women and gender

    Betty Chikava, Mrs Emilia Muchawa


    Mr Settlement Chikwinya, Ms Vivian Banhire


    Mr Felix Sibanda, Joshua Malinga

    Traditional institutions and customs

    Chief Lucas Mtshane, Mrs Getrude Hambira.


    Ms Lucia Mutibenga, Mr Noah Gande

    Elections, transitional mechanisms and independent commissions

    Mr Tongai Matutu, Brigadier General Douglas Nyikayaramba

    Citizenship and bill of rights

    Mr Sherperd Mushonga, Mrs Mercy Chizodza-Chiunye.

    Arms of state and principle of separation of powers

    Ms Thandelko Mnkandla, Mr Shingi Mutumbwa


    Ms Sithembile Mlotshwa, Reverend Andrew Wutawunashe.

    Government through treasury has set aside $43 million and the United Nations Development Programme $2 million to ensure the successful implementation of the programme. The process is expected to wind up in July or August next year.