Leaders to unveil constitutional commissions

Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai’s Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) party said membership of the Zimbabwe Media Commission (ZMC), the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) and the Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission (ZHRC) would be announced once the chairpersons of the ZEC and the ZHRC have been agreed to by Tsvangirai, President Robert Mugabe and Deputy Prime Minister Arthur Mutambara of the MDC faction.

The announcement would also have to wait for formal notification of members of the three commissions.

“The Anti-­Corruption Commission is the only outstanding body to be appointed and this will be done once the principals have individually submitted recommendations to Parliament’s Standing Rules and Orders Committee,” the MDC said in a statement Wednesday.

The commissions are some of the reforms proposed under the GPA signed by the three Zimbabwean leaders in 2008 which paved the way for the formation of a coalition government in February this year.

Tsvangirai’s party also said negotiators from the two MDC factions and Mugabe’s ZANU PF would submit their report to the principals “this weekend detailing issues which have been agreed on and framework with definite deadlines for implementation”.

Conclusion of outstanding power-sharing issues was delayed last week after some of the negotiators asked for time off in order to attend to government business.

The talks are being mediated by South African President Jacob Zuma who has dispatched a team of facilitators to Harare at least twice since the beginning of December.

“It is understood that the majority of issues have been resolved, either between the negotiators or via recommendations by the facilitators themselves,” the statement said.

However, a few issues remain where no agreement has been reached and these would now be referred to the Southern African Development Community (SADC) for arbitration.

The issues of the appointment of the central bank governor and attorney general continue to evade resolution.

SADC is trying to broker a deal among the three Zimbabwean political parties and save the coalition government.

The announcement for commissioners to sit on three of the four constitutional commissions has been put on hold as the two leaders of the Government of National Unity, President Robert Mugabe and Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai still have to agree on certain names.

However unconfirmed reports said on Wednesday that Mugabe’s men had attempted to publish lists with dubious names not included in the final lists compiled by Mugabe and Tsvangirai at their Monday meeting.

The composition of the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC), Zimbabwe Media Commission (ZMC) and Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission (ZHRC) will be concluded when Mugabe returns from the Climate Change summit underway in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Highly placed sources gave the following lists of the commissioners as agreed on by Mugabe and Tsvangirai on Monday:

Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC)
Simpson Mutabanengwe (Chairsperson) – subject to acceptance by him (Currently a Judge in Namibia)
Chigaru (Zim. International Trade Fair G.M.)
G. Feltoe
T. Gambe
Joyce Kazembe
P. Makoni
S. Ndlovu
Dr. Godwill Shana
either Nandara or Nyati
Zimbabwe Media Commission
Godfrey Majonga (Chairperson)
Nqobile Nyathi
Dr. T. Hikwa
Dr. Millicent Mombeshora
Henry Muradzikwa
Chris Mutsangwa
Rev. Useni Sibanda
Matthew Takaona
M. Sibanda
Human Rights Commission
R. Austen (Chairperson)
K. Sithole
N. Jirira
E. Neseni
Joseph Kurebwa
N. Ncube
J. Mudenda
D. Gwatidzwo