Mugabe nominated unopposed, Mujuru appears set to retain position

Some provinces however failed to conclude the nomination of candidates for the central committee and presidium, a clear sign that there were still wide divisions in the party.

Vice President Joice Mujuru appeared set to retain her position, after she was endorsed unanimously in five provinces. Her major rival, Emmerson Mnangagwa’s name did not appear among the names that had been confirmed by Saturday night.


Mujuru was nominated unopposed in Manicaland, Matabeleland South, Matabeleland North, Harare and Mashonaland West. She however lost by a wide margin in Masvingo, where the province nominated Oppah Muchinguri for the VP. Results were not immediately available from Mashonaland Central, Mashonaland East and Bulawayo. In Midlands, the nominations failed to take off, and were postponed to November 21.


There was chaos at Chiefs’ Hall in Masvingo as Zanu PF top officials nearly exchanged blows when Mujuru had lost to Muchingri. Dzikamai Mavhaire who was openly campaining for Mujuru was visibly bitter and he threatened to take action against the results that he claimed were rigged in favour of Muchinguri.


"Mujuru is associated with wrong people, she is always in this province but with wrong people," said a source to Radio VOP.


There are two rival factions in Masvingo- one led by Mavhaire and the other being led by Josiah Hungwe- sanator for Chivi Mwenezi constituency.

John Nkomo also had a reasonable lead in the race for the other position of VP. Nkomo beat Naison Khutshwekhaya Ndlovu in Mat South. He was also nominated unopposed in Masvingo and Manicaland. Other provinces are said to be waiting for the outcome from the other provinces.


In Matabeleland North, the province failed to agree on the choice for the second VP and national chairman, resulting in the submission of two names for each of the positions. John Nkomo and Naison Khutshwekhaya Ndlovu’s names were submitted for the VP, while Mines Minister Obert Mpofu and Zimbabwe’s Ambassador to South Africa Simon Khaya Moyo were named for the chairmanship.
In Matabeleland South, Moyo was nominitated for the chairmanship, beating Home Affairs co-Minister, Kembo Mohadi and Mine Minister Obert Mpofu.


In Harare and Mashonaland West, the selection of national chairman and the other VP was not concluded. Sources said the provinces were still waiting for the outcome from Bulawayo, where the process went on till late.