Waller to captain T20 tourney team

Malcolm Waller

Malcolm Waller

MALCOLM Waller has been named as captain of the Zimbabwe President’s XI team to compete in the Africa T20 Cup tournament.

The continental Twenty20 tournament will be held in South Africa, from the 4th of September to the 4th of October.

It will be hosted by Cricket South Africa.

The 15-man squad announced by the selectors includes a mixture of players who have had a taste of international cricket and youngsters who have excelled at age-group level.

“We have gone with a combination of youth and experience, and the idea is to give an opportunity to fringe players to put their hands up in light of the International Cricket Council World Twenty20 tournament early next year,” said convener of selectors Kenyon Ziehl.

Kenya and Namibia will also participate in the tournament, which will include 12 CSA Affiliates as well as Associate Member, KwaZulu-Natal Inland.

The tournament will consist of four pools of four teams each, with the winners of each pool advancing to the semi-finals on the 3rd of October and the last two to the final which is on the next day.

Zimbabwe is in pool A alongside Western Province, Northens and Easterns. All the games in Pool A will be played at Sahara Park Willowmoore in Benoni. — Zimcricket.