17 MPs nominated to lead constitution making committees

Seven Zanu PF, seven MDC-T and two MDC-M members of parliament including one chief have been nominated to chair the thematic committees that will guide the preliminary phase of the constitution making process.

Announcing the names at a press briefing at Parliament House in Harare, co-chairman of the select committee Mr Douglas Mwonzora said it was agreed upon at the first stakeholders conference which was held on the 13th and 14th of July this year that members of parliament be selected to chair the thematic committees and subcommittees.

The nominated members are ; Dr David Parirenyatwa, Thandeko Mkhandla ,Tabitha Khumalo ,Shepherd Mushonga, Betty Chikava, Settlement Chikwinya, Felix Sibanda, Makhosini Hlongwane, Clifford Sibanda, Martin Dinha, Lucia Matibenga, Tongai Mathuthu, Reuben Marumahoko, Silandu Ncube, Andrew Langa, Sithembile Mlotshwa and Chief Lucas Mtshane.

The thematic committees will focus on various areas including founding principles of the constitution, systems of government, women and gender issues among others.

Responding to questions soon after the announcement co-chairman Paul Mangwana said the select committee is still waiting for resources to commence the consultative phase of the constitution making process, and hopes are high that the government as the principal financier will act fast before more valuable time is lost.

Seventeen deputy chairpersons are expected to be selected from the civic society and will be announced in due course.

The select committee is expected to table a draft constitution by February next year, with a referendum to approve it expected to be held in July.