Mash East boots out interim chair Chigwedere

Dr Chigwedere

Dr Chigwedere

Farirai Machivenyika  Senior Reporter
The Zanu-PF Mashonaland East province interim executive committee has passed a vote of no-confidence in acting provincial chairman Cde Aeneas Chigwedere on various charges that include failure to convene meetings and making unilateral decisions among others.The provincial interim executive committee that met in Marondera yesterday also recommended the expulsion of five senior party members and five-year suspensions of 14 others.

Interim spokesperson Cde Farai Maimba confirmed the vote of no-confidence passed on Cde Chigwedere adding Provincial Affairs Minister Cde Joel Biggie Matiza would act in his capacity.

“The vote of no confidence was passed because Cde Chigwedere was making unilateral decisions without consulting other members of the interim executive and also failed to convene a single executive committee meeting in the past two months.

“He also failed to introduce comrades that were readmitted into the party namely Cde Jonathan Samkange from Mudzi and Cde Tendai Garwe from Murehwa causing confusion, chaos and factionalism in those areas.

“He also failed to organise last weekend’s rally attended by Vice President Cde Emmerson Mnangagwa resulting in a low turnout that turned the event into a district meeting instead of a star rally,” Cde Maimba said.

Cde Maimba said they had recommended the other members for either expulsion or suspension.

“There are others that we recommended for either expulsion or suspension given the roles they play in the promotion of factionalism in the province and plotting to topple the legitimately elected President, Cde Mugabe.”

The five members who were recommended for expulsion are Marondera National Assembly representative and former provincial chairman Cde Ray Kaukonde, Uzumba representative and former Minister of State for Mashonaland East, Cde Simbaneuta Mudarikwa, Murehwa North representative Tendai Makunde, Mudzi North’s Cde Olivia Muchena who is also former Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology Development and Goromonzi South’s Petronella Kagonye who is also a former Deputy Minister of Transport and Infrastructure Development.

The four former ministers were fired from Government last year.

Those who have been recommended for five-year suspensions from the party include Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation Development responsible for Livestock Production and Goromonzi North representative Cde Paddy Zhanda and Maramba Pfungwe’s Cde Washington Musvaire, Seke’s Cde Phenias Chihota, Chikomba’s Cde Felix Mhona and Goromonzi West’s Cde Beater Nyamupinga.

The other former provincial members that were recommended for five-year suspensions include Cdes George Katsande, Lucky Kandemiri, Vernon Muringayi, John Mushayi, Peter Murwira, Marble Kavindikisa, Taurayi Pasirayi, Getrude Mariwo and Lillian Zemura.