Zanu-PF conducts 8 primary elections

Cde Maziwisa

Cde Maziwisa

Herald Reporters
Zanu-PF successfully conducted primary elections on Saturday in eight constituencies in Harare, Midlands and Manicaland and has announced candidates who will represent the party in the by-elections set for June 10, should by-elections become necessary by the close of the Nomination Courts on Thursday.

Bulawayo, Mpopoma, Lobengula, Pumula, Makokoba and Luveve will have primaries this week, while Information, Media and Broadcasting Services Minister Professor Jonathan Moyo was unanimously endorsed for Tsholotsho North.

The 14 constituencies fell vacant after the recall of 21 MDC-T legislators from Parliament last month, which will see MDC-T filling the other seven seats which it won on proportional representation in the July 31 2013 harmonised elections.

Harare provincial chairman Cde Godwills Masimirembwa announced the results for the province yesterday and commended the conduct of the candidates.

Cde Psychology Maziwisa will represent the party in Highfield West after polling 840 votes, beating Cdes Emmanuel Juta (270), Alexander Matafi (200), Norbert Chikumbo (34) and Regis Muguva (23).

In Glen View South, Cde Pious Madzinga won with 191 votes, beating Cdes Doubt Mhike (159), Tawanda Musengi (103), Gladys Muvuti (68) and Musafare Muchemwa (7).

Cde Betty Kaseke will represent Kuwadzana after managing 572 votes ahead of Cdes Lloyd Makuwe (308), Cde Tauya Mauka (36) and Joseph Mutezo (148).

In Kambuzuma, Cde Tinashe Maduza got 891 votes beating Cde Oliver Chidau (378), Cde Samuel Mvurume (66) and Cde Samuel Chinyowa (62).

The Dzivaresekwa primary election was won by Cde Omega Hungwe who polled 679 votes to beat Cdes Never Kowo (253), Francis Chanduru (66), William Muhipe (47) and Tichaona Kapfunde (5).

Cde Terrence Mukupe polled (651) in Harare East, beating Cdes Mavis Gumbo (369), Stanley Mau Mau (111), Chris Chuchu (14), Justice Zvandasara (151), Margaret Sithole (20) and Milton Chaniwa (31).

Speaking after the elections, Cde Mau Mau said he was ready to work with Cde Mukupe since he was “the best candidate” for the constituency.

Cde Vongaishe Mpereri polled 2 299 votes against Cde Knowlet Hove in Kwekwe Central, while Cde Esau Mupfumi will represent the party in Dangamvura-Chikanga after garnering 1 110 votes followed by Cdes Yard Binali (745), Reketai Duru (586), Kenneth Muchina (522) and Future Pariyana (67).