Zima winners honoured


CHIBABABA . . . Deputy Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture Tabetha Kanengoni-Malinga presents Soul Jah Love with the Best Dancehall Artiste gong in Harare on Thursday.

Brenda Phiri Entertainment Reporter
The 2014 Zimbabwe Music Awards winners were on Thursday night given their winning gongs at Maestro Restaurant, ending months of speculation over the handover of the accolades.Zima was held in October last year, but the winners could not get the gongs on the night of the ceremony following a misunderstanding between the organisers and a South African company that was responsible for the gongs.

But on Thursday, the organisers fulfilled their promise to deliver the gongs to the winners.

Speaking at the event, guest of honour, Deputy Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture Tabetha Kanengoni-Malinga commended Zima for honouring their pledge.

“I believe it is important for us to salute Zima for this most noble initiative. Everyone deserves recognition for a job well done, especially our musicians. I know today we are handing over trophies to winners of the 2014 edition.

“While many may say this has come late, I believe it is admirable that the (Zima) chairman, Mr (Joseph) Nyadzayo and his team, refused to bow down to their circumstances and resign. They have done everything in their power to ensure that all winners receive their due recognition,” she said

Malinga challenged stakeholders to continue supporting initiatives that recognise and promote local talent saying it was not right that artistes go without funding.

“Beyond the impacts that music has on us on a personal level, it is important for business to realise that music and musicians have the potential to become great aids to their businesses. My question to you ladies and gentlemen of the business community is: Is this not an industry you should be taking seriously and investing in?”

On the night, ZIMA also launched its 2015 campaign that will be running under the theme “Celebrating Leadership through Music”.

Freedom Maziriri, the chief executive of the events management company contracted by Zima, said they were already organising next year’s event.

He promised an even bigger and better ceremony in 2015. The event was a huge success despite starting much later than the scheduled time.

Most of the artistes came dressed for the occasion

Below is the list of Zima 2014 winners:

Best Traditional — Jah Prayzah
Best Contemporary Choral — UFIC Choir
Best Acapella — Black Umfolosi
Best Sungura — Suluman Chimbetu
Best Traditional Gospel — Mathius Mhere
Best Contemporary Gospel — Sabastian Magacha
Best RnB Soul — Audious Mtawarira
Best Jazz Music — Ruzivo & Clare Nyakudjara
Best Afro Pop — Ex Q
Best Hip-hop — Tehn Diamond
Best Dancehall — Soul Jah Love
Lifetime Achievement Award — Cde Chinx
Best Single — Cynthia Mare
Best Collaboration — Sanni Makhalima & Umsindo All Stars
Best Newcomer — Malimba
Best House — Kuxxman
Best Music Video — Nick Compas
Best Producer — Sanii Makhalima
Best Engineer — Obediah Matulana
Song of the Year — Leonard Zhakata
Best Duo/Group — UFI Choir
International Achiever’s Award — Mokoomba
Best Female — Cynthia Mare
Best Male — Soul Jah Love
Best Album — Jah Prayzah