Mt Darwin West and Chirumanzu-Zibagwe Elections

Updates by Simiso Mlevu, Tendai Mugabe and Costa Mano


Voting has started peacefully in the Chirumanzu-Zibagwe constituency by-elections with five candidates are battling for the ticket to represent the constituency in parliament.

The seat fell vacant following the elevation of former MP, Vice President Emmerson Mnangagwa to to the presidium.

The candidates are Cde Auxillia Mnangagwa of Zanu PF, Dewah Gedzamoyo of Good People’s Movement, Mutodza Munashe of NCA, Rumbidzai Musambasi of Transform Zimbabwe and Wilbroad kanoti standing as an independent.

Polling stations opened at 7am and voters in the constituency have started trickling to polling stations to cast their ballots to choose a member of parliament.