MDC-M on the brink as defiance and defections looms

The rally held on Sunday afternoon at Emlonyeni ward in Lupane in Matabeleland North was attended by thousands of party supporters.

 The rally organised by Lupane East legislature, Njabuliso Mguni was also attended by Nkayi South Member of Parliament, Abedinico Bhebhe.

Bhebhe together with Mguni are part of the six party members suspended by the MDC-M for indiscipline.

The other high ranking party officials who attended the rally include the Lupane Senator Dalumuzi Khumalo, Tsholotsho South Member of parliament, Maxwell Dube, and all the party’s councillors from the Lupane Rural District Council.

Party supporters at the rally took Bhebhe and Mguni to task and accused them of misleading them by directing them to back the MDC-M.

The angry supporters said they were misled to believe that Mutambara was a good leader but they were surprised when they were later informed to vote for Simba Makoni.

In his address Bhebhe lashed at the party leadership and said their suspension was null and void.

“The decision to suspend us is null and void, when we split as the MDC there are some people who said they wanted to suspend Tsvangirai and today these are the same people who claim they have suspended us.

“We ask who shall suspend them? I know some of them wanted to suspend us a long time ago before they themselves were suspended by the people of Bulawayo during election time last year,”Bhebhe said amid applause from the crowd.

Asked on whether he was rejoining the MDC-T formation Bhebhe said the decision was up to the people who voted him into office.

Some of the party supporters encouraged Bhebhe to stand as an independent if he was expelled from the MDC-M.

“We were fooled to vote for the MDC-M and if Mguni and Bhebhe are expelled from the party they should stand as independents and we will vote them back into office,”said one party supporter.

Bhebhe and Mguni were suspended from the party together with four other party members who include Bulilima East legislator, Norman Mpofu, national executive members, Alex Goosen, Job Sikhala and the party’s national chairman for youth assembly, Gift Nyandoro.