Mutambara Suspends Six Top Party Officials

The other four are Job Sikhala, Norman Mpofu, Alex Goosen and Gift Nyandoro.

As revealed by The Zimbabwe Mail a week ago, Edwin Mushoriwa, the MDC-M spokesman, said the six were suspended for misconduct with immediate effect, pending appearance before a disciplinary committee.

“MDC advises that it has suspended six members from the Party with immediate effect, pending their appearance before the National Disciplinary Committee on charges of misconduct,” said Mushoriwa. Bhebhe, the legislator for Nkayi West, caused a stir in the MDC-M after Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai nominated him as Minister of Water Development.

Together with Sijabuliso Mguni, the legislator for Lupane, they stand accused of voting with MDC T legislator for the Speaker of Parliament, Lovemore Moyo instead of their party candidate Paul Themba Nyathi.

Sikhala has reportedly been on a campaign to oust Deputy Prime Minister Mutambara.