Division One Split Into Two Groups

The league’s secretary, Stanley Ntenezi, said clubs agreed at an extra ordinary general meeting recently to divide the league into Pool A and Pool B, with the teams that will top the groups expected to clash for the sole ticket to the Premiership at the end of the season.

Ntenezi said this was after the ZIFA board in Harare indicated that the fourth region, which will take the chunk of teams from the southern region, would be formed next year.

"The issue of the central region or fourth region will start next year so we decided to come up with a short term solution to the problem of travelling costs and camping fees and divided the teams," he said.

Pool A will be made up of teams from Bulawayo – Railstars, Chicken Inn, Windermere, Quelaton, Turnall, City Warriors and Zimbabwe Saints, and teams from Matabeleland North, Mpumalanga from Hwange, Victoria Falls United, Sao Paulo and Kujatana from the resort town, and Shangani, and teams from Matabeleland South, Forbes Thompson and another team from Gwanda.

The other pool will comprise teams from Midlands – Chapungu, Red Cross, Silo, All Gweru, Ziscosteel, Lancashire steel, Zim Alloys, Chrome, MPC and Amaveni, all from Kwekwe, Gokwe Eagles, Zvishavane’s Shabanie and Mimosa, and Beitbridge teams Border Strikers and Super Dynamo.

Ntenezi said the league games would kick off after the Easter Holidays because of delays by teams to register.

"Registration is very slow. Some teams might not register because in Harare, only eight teams are playing this season. Things are tough," he said. RadioVOP