Parliament Standing Rules and Orders Committee Constituted

The committee is expected to expedite the selection of members of the long-awaited Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission and the Zimbabwe Media Commission, to replace the Media and Information Commission.


Once constituted, the Zimbabwe Media Commission will, among other issues, attend to the issuance of newspaper licences and registration fees for media houses and journalists.

The committee would also have a say in the selection of members of other commissions such as the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission and the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission.

Members from the two Movement for Democratic Change formations dominate the committee. The members of the Committee on Standing Rules and Orders are; Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai and his deputy Thokozani Khupe. 

Tsvangirai is also the leader of government in Parliament.

Other members are Speaker of Parliament Lovemore Moyo, Constitutional and Parliamentary minister Eric Matinenga, Finance Minister Tendai Biti, Thabitha Khumalo, the Member of Parliament (MP) for Bulawayo East, Tapiwa Mashakada, the MP for Hatfield, Masvingo Urban MP Tongai Matutu and the Senator for Chisipite, Obert Gutu.

Also in the committee are; Deputy Speaker of Parliament Nomalanga Khumalo, Senate President, Edna Madzongwe, Deputy Senate President Naison Ndlovu, Vice Presidents Joseph Msika and Joice Mujuru, Deputy Prime Minister Arthur Mutambara, Industry minister Welshman Ncube, Defence Minister Emmerson Mnangagwa, Justice minister Patrick Chinamasa and legislators, Paul Mangwana, Mabel Chinomona and Njabuliso Mguni. Chief Fortune Charumbira is the traditional leaders’ representative in the committee.